CISA Certification Guide for Emerging Talent in Cybersecurity

  • January 8, 2023
  • admin
  • 2 min read

For IT auditors, CISA is one of the few certifications which are globally recognized.

CISA Certification Requirements

To apply for CISA Certification, you must have five years of professional experience in auditing, information systems, security, and control within the recent past ten years. You can make the years less from 5 to 3 if you meet the following conditions:

  1. You possess one year of non-IS audition experience or one year of IS auditing experience

  2. You carry an equivalent degree of two or four years is also similar, which can be substituted for one to two years of experience

  3. You have studied in a university which sponsors the ISACA curriculum in their bachelors and master degree. This degree can be substituted for one year of experience

  4. Master’s degree in IS or IT from a recognized university, which can serve as the equivalent of one year of experience.

There is also an exception for someone who has been a university instructor in the related field, and this can substitute for one year of experience.

There is also an option to take the exam before the requirements are met, and you will receive the CISA designation when the conditions are met. Although this practice is encouraged by the institute, you have to meet the requirements within five years after passing the exam.

The CISA Exam – Scoring and Domains

The grading scale of the CISA exam is from 200 to 800 points. To pass the exam, you have to score a minimum of 450 points. The review will include an exam based on 150 multiple choice questions, which cover the five main job areas of IS auditing, controlling and security. The time to complete the exam will be for four hours. The CISA exam has the following modules:

  1. Domain 1: The method of auditing information systems (21%)

  2. Domain 2: Governance and management of IT (16%)

  3. Domain 3: It consists of Information systems development, implementation, and acquisition (18%)

  4. Domain 4: Information systems operations, maintenance, and service management (20%)

  5. Domain 5: The Protection of information assets (25%)